The EQ Post

“How shall freedom be defended? By arms when it is attacked by arms, by truth when it is attacked by lies, by faith when it is attacked by authoritarian dogma. Always, in the final act, by determination and faith.” ― Archibald MacLeish


Ang Kalbaryo Ng Pinoy: KUNG gusto ninyo pa rin ng EJKs pero nakakalusot ang mga mayaman na drug lords, bola lang ang "end of Endo", ang yaman ng bayan para na lang sa mga plunderers at mga dayuhan! Iboto ninyo ang mga "popular" na kandidato ni Digong! Kalimutan na lang ang Bayan.

Google Statistics:EQ Visits

Tuesday, February 5, 2019

Two "Must Read" Books For Junkies of Time Travel Stories

LOVE AND GRAVITY
February 7, 2017 (Ballantine/Random House)
ABOUT LOVE AND GRAVITY
In this unforgettable novel for fans of One Day and The Time Traveler’s Wife, a young Isaac Newton falls in love with a girl living in modern-day San Francisco, defying the laws of physics to forge a seemingly impossible connection.
“Thoughtful, magical, and alive with romantic alchemy, Love and Gravity is a rare gem of a book, both intellectual and beautiful.”—New York Times bestselling author Sarah Addison Allen
Andrea Louviere is seven years old the first time he appears. While she’s alone in her bedroom, practicing her beloved cello, the light shivers and a crack forms in the wall. Through the crack, she sees a candle, a window, a desk—and a boy. In the eerie silence, the boy clearly sees Andrea too. Then, as quickly as it opened, the crack closes and he vanishes.
Over the years, summoning the boy becomes an obsession for Andrea. On her seventeenth birthday, she receives a three-hundred-year-old love letter from Isaac Newton. Andrea knows that Isaac will change the world with his groundbreaking discoveries; the letter tells Andrea that she will change him.
As Isaac’s letters intensify in passion and intimacy, Andrea grows determined to follow his clues to their shared destiny—despite a burgeoning romance in the present. Only when she discovers the way into Isaac’s time does Andrea realize that she faces a heartbreaking decision between what was . . . and what might be.
From Publishers' Weekly
Editorial Reviews
Andrea is seven the first time the music from her cello opens a window into the past. From that moment she is haunted by glimpses of the boy she sometimes sees looking back at her through her wall when she plays. As she gets older, her obsession turns to love, and she scorns the affection of her best friend, Nate, to chase a shadow of a relationship with the man who she learns is Isaac Newton himself. The book is hard to put down, driven by the mystery of the portal and the clues delivered as if by magic at just the right moments. Readers familiar with the historical Newton’s famous lack of interest in women or marriage may be uncomfortable with his portrayal as the focus of Andrea’s passion. Those who enjoy science fiction with romantic flavor will enjoy the clever twists and turns.
Amazon Customer Reviews:
5.0 out of 5 stars:A must read!
February 1, 2019
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
By Melissa Mahan
I'm a junkie for time travel stories. Love and Gravity takes this genre to an experience that I will never forget. Without posting spoilers, I can only promise that you will not find a love story that is as moving. You will be searching YouTube for cello music. You will search for images of one of the main characters. You will have eyes welling with tears and your heart will both break and pound with joy. I have this book in Kindle form. This book is one I will find and add to my "real books" library. Put this one on your "must read" list.
5.0 out of 5 stars "Couldn’t put it down!"
October 7, 2018
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
By D. Rosica
Started this book this morning and just finished it now. Absolutely loved it. I discovered this author when I chanced upon her first book Before Ever After (which I also highly recommend). If you’re looking for an engaging page turner with some nice twists, this is great. It reminds me of Liane Moriarty though with a hint of fantasy, and while I’m usually not big on that kind of stuff her writing and story telling make it work.
From Barnes And Noble
Book Review:
By Jill-Elizabeth_dot_com
What a lovely story this was! I love stories with time travel and alternate or unusual timelines. I was a huge fan of The Time Traveler’s Wife – this one felt redolent of it for a while, although it wound up (much to my delight) traveling down a more original path than it suggested at first…
There’s a beautiful timeless love story, of course, but there’s also a fascinating exploration (although I don’t know how true – this is, after all, fiction) of Isaac Newton’s early years and a very original take on the inspiration for his major discoveries/theories. The characters really come alive in this one. Isaac himself is fascinating, of course – how could he not be, he’s Isaac Newton! But more interesting, I think, is Andrea. She’s a brilliant enigma, a girl of immense talent with immensely complicated relationships. She really brought the story to life for me. The ancillary characters (her father, Nate) were always present but were clearly set up in supporting roles (even though they were essential to the story)
There’s a twist – I will admit that I saw it coming, but that didn’t lessen the joy of the reveal for me at all. Instead it made it richer and feel like a coming-full-circle wrap up that tied things together nicely without feeling twee or too cozy. This was a very enjoyable and easy-going read, and I will definitely keep the author on my radar…
Time-travel book lovers who bought Love and Gravity also bought Samantha's Sotto's first international best-seller  book-Before Ever After.
"A smartly written romance, mystery and historical adventure all wrapped up in a page-turner that will have you guessing until the very end." – Adena Halpern, author of The Ten Best Days of My Life 
 AMAZON: Book Description
Three years after her husband Max's death, Shelley feels no more adjusted to being a widow than she did that first terrible day. That is, until the doorbell rings. Standing on her front step is a young man who looks so much like Max–same smile, same eyes, same age, same adorable bump in his nose–he could be Max's long-lost relation. He introduces himself as Paolo, an Italian editor of American coffee table books, and shows Shelley some childhood photos. Paolo tells her that the man in the photos, the bearded man who Paolo says is his grandfather though he never seems to age, is Max. Her Max. And he is alive and well.
As outrageous as Paolo's claims seem–how could her husband be alive? And if he is, why hasn't he looked her up? – Shelley desperately wants to know the truth. She and Paolo jet across the globe to track Max down–if it is really Max– and along the way, Shelley recounts the European package tour where they had met. As she relives Max's stories of bloody Parisian barricades, medieval Austrian kitchens, and buried Roman boathouses, Shelley begins to piece together the story of who her husband was and what these new revelations mean for her "happily ever after." And as she and Paolo get closer to the truth, Shelley discovers that not all stories end where they are supposed to.