Global Pinoys: Warning on Middle East Respiratory Syndrome (MERS)

EQ Videos

Thursday, December 5, 2013

Philippine Senate:REFORM or PERISH!

Who wants to be a Philippine senator?
Sonny AngaraLDP120132019
Bam AquinoLiberal120132019
Nancy BinayUNA120132019
Alan Peter CayetanoNacionalista220132019
Pia CayetanoNacionalista220102016
Franklin DrilonLiberal120102016
JV EjercitoUNA120132019
Francis EscuderoIndependent220132019
Jinggoy EstradaUNA220102016
Teofisto Guingona IIILiberal120102016
Gregorio HonasanUNA220132019
Lito LapidLakas220102016
Loren LegardaNPC220132019
Ferdinand Marcos, Jr.Nacionalista120102016
Sergio Osmeña IIIIndependent120102016
Grace Poe-LlamanzaresIndependent120132019
Aquilino Pimentel IIIPDP-Laban120132019
Juan Ponce EnrileUNA220102016
Ralph RectoLiberal120102016
Bong RevillaLakas220102016
Miriam Defensor SantiagoPRP220102016
Tito SottoNPC120102016
Antonio Trillanes IVNacionalista220132019
Cynthia VillarNacionalista12013201
  • Shameless
  • Egoistic
  • No manners
  • Arrogant
  • Totally Corrupt
  • Openly immoral
  • Ruthless
By law, just about anyone can be a Philippine Senator. The Constitution requires only that you be a  natural-born citizen of the Philippines, at least 35 years of age, able to read and write, a registered voter, and a resident of the Philippines for not less than two years immediately preceding the day of the election.

There is no fixed journey to greatness in the Senate.They say the Senate is the Philippines' most exclusive club. But the real élite is made up not of those who break in but of those who make a difference once they get there.
Senators Who Assumed Philippine Presidency:
Manuel L. Quezon, 2nd President. Was also the first Senate President who lobbied for a nationally-elected senate that was established in 1940.
José P. Laurel, 3rd President
Sergio Osmeña, 4th President
Manuel Roxas, 5th President
Elpidio Quirino, 6th President
Carlos P. Garcia, 8th President
Ferdinand E. Marcos, 10th President
Joseph Ejercito Estrada, 13th President
Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo, 14th President
Benigno Aquino III, 15th President (Incumbent)
Other Prominent Senators:
Benigno S. Aquino, Jr., Marcos-era opposition leader, husband of 11th President Corazon C. Aquino and father of incumbent President Benigno Aquino III.
Pablo Angeles y David, statesman, youngest Filipino to pass the Bar; pre-World War II, oppositionist to Pres. Elpidio Quirino
Jose W. Diokno, nationalist, former Secretary of Justice, Bar topnotcher, founder of the Free Legal Assistance Group
Teofisto Guingona, Jr., 11th Vice President of the Philippines
Eva Estrada Kalaw, first woman to be re-elected senator,
Raul Manglapus, former Minister of Foreign Affairs and former presidential candidate
Blas Ople, former Director-General of the International Labour Organization (ILO) and former Secretary of Foreign Affairs
Cipriano P. Primicias, Sr., statesman, Majority Floor Leader and Member of The Council of State, 1953–1963
Gil J. Puyat, statesman, Senate President (1967–1972).
Claro M. Recto, statesman
Jovito Salonga, Three-time top elected senator, Marcos-era opposition leader, former Chairman of the Presidential Commission on Good Government (PCGG).
Vicente Sotto, father of "Press Freedom Law"
Lorenzo Tañada, statesman and Marcos-era opposition leader
Arturo Tolentino, 9th Vice President of the Philippines
Noli de Castro, 12th Vice President of the Philippines
Question: A Member of either house of Congress may be expelled by their fellow Members. For a Member to be expelled, how many of the total number of Members of a house must concur with the expulsion? 
Answer: Two-thirds. Article VI, Section 16.3 states, "Each House may determine the rules of its proceedings, punish its Members for disorderly behavior, and, with the concurrence of two-thirds of all its Members, suspend or expel a Member." So, if the Senate wants to expel a member, 16 of the 24 Senators must agree to expel that Senator.
SECTION 16. (1) The Senate shall elect its President and the House of Representatives its Speaker, by a majority vote of all its respective Members.
Each House shall choose such other officers as it may deem necessary.
(2) A majority of each House shall constitute a quorum to do business, but a smaller number may adjourn from day to day and may compel the attendance of absent Members in such manner, and under such penalties, as such House may provide.
(3) Each House may determine the rules of its proceedings, punish its Members for disorderly behavior, and, with the concurrence of two-thirds of all its Members, suspend or expel a Member. A penalty of suspension, when imposed, shall not exceed sixty days.
Shameless "Pork barrel" Senators
From Inquirer:
At least three senators instructed government agencies to release millions of pesos from their pork barrel funds to nongovernment organizations (NGOs) belonging to the Janet Lim-Napoles group, Commission on Audit (COA) Chair Grace Pulido-Tan told the Senate blue ribbon committee on Thursday.
Senators implicated in the pork barrel scam allegedly masterminded by Napoles have repeatedly said they have no hand in the implementation of the projects funded by their pork barrel, such as in choosing which NGOs will handle their entitlement under the Priority Development Assistance Fund (PDAF).
Tan narrated at the opening hearing of the Senate inquiry into the scam how Senators Juan Ponce Enrile, Jinggoy Estrada, Ramon Revilla Jr. and Gregorio Honasan allocated a total of P1.093 billion of their pork allocations to the bogus NGOs belonging to Napoles between 2007 and 2009.
In her report to the committee, Tan said Enrile and Revilla confirmed the authenticity of their signatures or those of their authorized representatives appearing in documents related to the release of their funds from the PDAF to Napoles’ NGOs.

Napoles allegedly siphoned off P10 billion from the PDAF into her bank accounts through bogus NGOs over the last 10 years.

EQ POLL:What should we do about the Philippine Senate? 

Vote in sidebar>>>