The EQ Post

“How shall freedom be defended? By arms when it is attacked by arms, by truth when it is attacked by lies, by faith when it is attacked by authoritarian dogma. Always, in the final act, by determination and faith.” ― Archibald MacLeish

EQ Video

EQ Post HOME

Reflections

“How shall freedom be defended? By arms when it is attacked by arms, by truth when it is attacked by lies, by faith when it is attacked by authoritarian dogma. Always, in the final act, by determination and faith.”

― Archibald MacLeish

Friday, September 22, 2017

For True Fans of "Magical Realism" Books, Here's "Love and Gravity" ...

Photo from EPIC Reads
From Merriam-Webster
1 :painting in a meticulously realistic style of imaginary or fantastic scenes or images
2 :a literary genre or style associated especially with Latin America that incorporates fantastic or mythical elements into otherwise realistic fiction — called also magical realism
What is Magical Realism: What is the debate?
In literary circles there’s a vigorous debate with strong reactions both for and against the use of ‘magical realism’ to describe various works of fiction. For example,
Is magical realism restricted to the geographic location of Latin America, where it had the largest initial popular impact?
Can magical realism be a narrative mode chosen solely for the purposes of literary exploration, without having its source in the writer’s mythological or cultural background?
Magic Realism In Art
From TenDreams
Magic Realism is a type of realism using contemporary subjects, often in cool detachment and sometimes injecting an eerie atmosphere. Juxtapositions of sharply rendered and detailed elements, both in the foreground and background, are used to develop an air of mystery or ambiguity. Although the paintings may incorporate everyday objects, their objective is not to appear dull or banal . Instead they attempt to show us the everyday world in new and unfamiliar ways. 
NEW RELEASES TAGGED "MAGICAL REALISM"
From GoodReads:
Magical Realism In Books
Magical realism is a fiction genre in which magical elements blend to create a realistic atmosphere that accesses a deeper understanding of reality. The story explains these magical elements as normal occurrences, presented in a straightforward manner that places the "real" and the "fantastic" in the same stream of thought.
“If you are interested in writing magical realism, you do not go out and find it by inventing it, by creating wild or amazing or ghosty things.  Making things up is entirely too easy, and its cardboard building material is always finally in evidence.”
–Alberto Rios
ELEMENTS OF MAGICAL REALISM
Ordinary events with a touch of the extraordinary.
Stated another way, marvelous events are presented as normal, run-of-the-mill, everyday things happening to ordinary, everyday people. These are stories of people just like us going about the things we do every day—but with the addition of a slight hint of magic running along the edges.
That might sound like other genres, such as Fantasy, but what makes Magical Realism truly different is that these magical elements are presented as just as normal to characters in these stories as snow is to someone who comes from a cold-weather clime. But to someone who has never experienced snow or ice or winter—or never even heard of it—snow is something extraordinary, and in some ways even magical.
Magical
“‘Magical,’ in magical realism, as with its companion word in translation, ‘marvelous,’ implies an appreciation of the real, rather than a distortion or replacement of it.”
–Alberto Rios 
Realism
“In magical realism, the realism plays a bigger role. The primary plot will be about real things in the real world, but there is an undercurrent of magic. It’s so real in fact, that the author may imply that the characters themselves may not be reliable narrators, so as to not be too decisive about the existence of magic. In magical realism, the magic often sneaks up on you and you wonder whether or not you’re supposed to believe it’s really happening.”
–Sharon Bliss
Magic+Realism
What happens when the two words are forced together can only be described as magical. 
“The forced relationship of the irreconcilable terms, ‘magic’ and ‘real’, mirror a fundamental human question that has indelible appeal. Magical Realism seamlessly injects beliefs that are not practical or observable into a universe influenced by science and pragmatism. This leads to perspectives and modes otherwise inexplorable. It creates an irresistible combination for readers; and a powerful narrative form for writers.”
–Jay Archer David
Time
Speaking of time stopping and then starting up again . . . Time tends to be more fluid in Magical Realism. It doesn’t have to be linear, or necessarily flow in one direction. In F. Scott Fitzgerald’s short story The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, time flows backward for the main character as he ages opposite the rest of humanity—he is born an old man and dies a baby.
“Time does not always march forward in the magical realist world view. The distant past is present in every moment, and the future has already happened. Great shifts in the narrative’s time sequence reflect a reality that is almost outside of time. This accounts for ghosts, for premonitions, and the feeling that time is a great repetition rather than a progression.”
–Bruce Holland Rogers
“You have to make the rules, not follow them” 
― Isaac Newton
From the author of "Before Ever After" comes a new novel "Love and Gravity" .
Music. Magic. Science. History. Time. And a love that rewrites everything you thought was true.
ABOUT LOVE AND GRAVITY
In this unforgettable novel for fans of One Day and The Time Traveler’s Wife, a young Isaac Newton falls in love with a girl living in modern-day San Francisco, defying the laws of physics to forge a seemingly impossible connection.
“Thoughtful, magical, and alive with romantic alchemy, Love and Gravity is a rare gem of a book, both intellectual and beautiful.”—New York Times bestselling author Sarah Addison Allen
Andrea Louviere is seven years old the first time he appears. While she’s alone in her bedroom, practicing her beloved cello, the light shivers and a crack forms in the wall. Through the crack, she sees a candle, a window, a desk—and a boy. In the eerie silence, the boy clearly sees Andrea too. Then, as quickly as it opened, the crack closes and he vanishes.
Over the years, summoning the boy becomes an obsession for Andrea. On her seventeenth birthday, she receives a three-hundred-year-old love letter from Isaac Newton. Andrea knows that Isaac will change the world with his groundbreaking discoveries; the letter tells Andrea that she will change him.
As Isaac’s letters intensify in passion and intimacy, Andrea grows determined to follow his clues to their shared destiny—despite a burgeoning romance in the present. Only when she discovers the way into Isaac’s time does Andrea realize that she faces a heartbreaking decision between what was . . . and what might be.
Amazon Customers' Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
ByChi and Kenzi on September 19, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
unusual way to present time travel--very imaginative and lovely story--held me from the beginning--
5.0 out of 5 starBrilliant!
ByLolon August 30, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Loved the story, the characters, the twist, writing- everything about this book. The end left me sobbing like a baby, but was also uplifting. A truly beautiful story- I'm going to buy a paper version so it stays in my library for years to come. Worth a re-read for sure.
ByBarbaraSL on August 30, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I loved this book. I loved to dual story lines. It was a very unique time-travel story. Best of all, everything I wondered about was answered by the end. A really good read.
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful!
By L3ftyg1rl
on August 28, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
That would be the word to sum up this book. Beautifully written, exquisitely crafted. Poetry and music on a page. I couldn't put this story down I was so enthralled with Andrea and Isaac and their love that broke through the barrier of time and space.
The characters have depth, are marvelously developed and come to life on the page. The story is a richly woven tapestry of marvelous colors and emotions. Details have been meticulously researched.
I can't find one flaw in this book . . . Except that it ended. I'm so glad I stumbled on this lovely book. It's one that will stay in my memory and my heart for quite some time.
I highly, highly recommend.